If you can dream it, you can do it

27 December 2017 20:00

Nikoloz Rachveli - The Rest Is Silence

Mikeladze National Music Center & ConceptArt

Nikoloz Rachveli - The Rest Is Silence

Tbilisi State Opera

This composition, which was specially created for Anita Rachvelishvili's concert at the Teatro alla Scala, is dedicated to the memory of people who have been tortured and killed unjustly. The final words from Shakespeare's Hamlet are used for a title. The work is based on a poem "Death Fugue”, written by an outstanding poet Paul Celan (1920-1970) about his experience in the Nazi concentration camps. Five-piece vocal cycle consists of Georgian poet Vazha Pshavela’s (1861-1915) poem “I could not save anyone” and poem about Jewish boy - 1st part, 2nd part - The Fest of the Tortured Souls,  3rd - Hebrew lullaby by Emanuel Harussi (1903-1979), 4th - "Death Fugue" by Paul Celan, and 5th part - Postludium, where Paul Celan reads his own poem written in the concentration camp. After the premiere on December 27, 2017 the mesmerized public was silent for a long time before a standing ovation.

special guest

    Anita Rachvelishvili - mezzo-zoprano 


    Kakhi Solomnishvili - conductor

    Nikoloz Rachveli - composer, conductor

    Georgian Philharmonic Orchestra


    Gori Sulkhan Tsintsadze Music College Girls Choir

    Nino Tsiklauri - chormaster

    Festival Choir

    giorgi margvelashvili - chormaster

production: Mikeladze National Music Center